Drug distribution crimes in Texas can result in serious criminal charges. The judge can impose prison time and thousands of dollars in fines for a conviction. A person can receive drug distribution charges in Texas even without selling a controlled substance. Sharing drugs with a friend falls into the category of distribution in the eyes of the law.
Review the types of trafficking charges in Texas and the possible penalties for convicted individuals.
Penalty Group I
Texas groups controlled substances into several penalty categories. Group I includes ketamine, GHB, Rohypnol, methamphetamine, oxycodone, morphine, heroin and cocaine.
For these substances, distribution of less than 1 g is a state jail felony. A convicted person could receive at least 180 days and up to two years in jail.
Texas imposes second-degree felony charges for 1 to 4 g. A conviction carries two to 20 years in state prison. The state elevates 4 to 200 g to a first-degree felony, which carries five to 99 years in prison.
Higher amounts of penalty group I substances constitute an enhanced first-degree felony. Texas punishes this offense with a minimum of 10 years in prison and fines starting at $10,000.
Penalty Group II
Hallucinogens, amphetamines, synthetic cannabis and related drugs fall into Group II in Texas. For less than 4 g, the same penalties apply as for Group I substances. A first-degree felony applies for more than 400 g of a Penalty Group II substance.
Lesser penalties apply to drugs in Penalty Groups III and IV. Examples include anabolic steroids, barbiturates, depressants and other prescription medications.